Somalia’s Interior Ministry forms body to select Galmudug MPs

The Ministry of Interior of the Somali Federal Government on Tuesday announced the members of the Galmudug State Technical Committee, which is tasked with the selection of the members of the Galmudug state parliament.

The ministry appointed a committee made up of 13 members, including ministers from the federal government, federal government advisers and a prominent campaigner for Qorqor, a presidential candidate for the Galmudug state’s upcoming elections.

Galmudug regional state president, Ahmed Duale Gelle Haaf, has welcomed the appointment of the committee.

He said that his government is cooperating with the Ministry of Interior to finalise the formation of an inclusive Galmudug state.

Here are the 13 members of the commitee:

  1. Mohamed Omar Afrah
  2. Abdikadir Noor Arale
  3. Ahmed Mohamed Aafi
  4. Abdirizack Kahiye Yussuf
  5. Omar Mohamed Abdi
  6. Hussein Abdulle Hassan
  7. Mohamed Dahir Farah
  8. Abdinasir Gelle Elmi
  9. Halimo Abdi Ali
  10. Mahad Mohamud Ali
  11. Abdirizack Adan Warsame
  12. Abshir Abdirahaman Mohamed
  13. Abdirashid Ali Salat